2 min Lesezeit
Published on: 22. August 2023

SDGs (Sustainable Development Goals): 17 social goals established by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs to promote prosperity while protecting the planet. The goals are: No poverty; zero hunger; good health and wellbeing; quality education; gender equality; clean water and sanitation; affordable and clean energy; decent work and economic growth; industry, innovation and infrastructure; reduced inequalities; sustainable cities and communities; responsible consumption and production; climate action; life below water; life on land; peace, justice and strong institutions; and partnerships for the goals.

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, are a set of 17 interconnected goals established by the United Nations in 2015 to address a wide range of global challenges and promote sustainable development worldwide. The SDGs build upon the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and aim to tackle social, economic, and environmental issues in a comprehensive and integrated manner.

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals are as follows:

No Poverty: End poverty in all its forms everywhere.

Zero Hunger: End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture.

Good Health and Well-being: Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages.

Quality Education: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.

Gender Equality: Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

Clean Water and Sanitation: Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.

Affordable and Clean Energy: Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all.

Decent Work and Economic Growth: Promote sustained, inclusive, and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment, and decent work for all.

Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure: Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialisation, and foster innovation.

Reduced Inequality: Reduce inequality within and among countries.

Sustainable Cities and Communities: Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable.

Responsible Consumption and Production: Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.

Climate Action: Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts.

Life Below Water: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas, and marine resources for sustainable development.

Life on Land: Protect, restore, and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and biodiversity loss.

Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions: Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all, and build effective, accountable, and inclusive institutions at all levels.

Partnerships for the Goals: Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

The SDGs are interconnected and mutually reinforcing, recognizing that achieving sustainable development requires addressing social, economic, and environmental issues in an integrated manner. The goals are intended to be achieved by 2030, and they provide a common framework for countries, organisations, and individuals to work together to create a more just, equitable, and sustainable world. The SDGs also emphasise the importance of leaving no one behind and ensuring that progress is equitable and inclusive for all people, regardless of their background or circumstances.

Did you like the article?

Learn more about ESG compliance?

Enter email and speak with an expert.

More contributions