2 min Lesezeit
Published on: 22. August 2023

(GREEN STAR) The Green Star Certification is an environmentally focused building rating system and certification program primarily used in Australia to assess and recognise the sustainability and environmental performance of buildings and projects. 

Developed by the Green Building Council of Australia (GBCA), Green Star aims to encourage the construction and operation of environmentally responsible and resource-efficient buildings.

The Green Star Certification evaluates various aspects of a building or project’s design, construction, and operation, including:

Energy Efficiency: Assessing the building’s energy consumption and the use of renewable energy sources.

Water Efficiency: Evaluating water use efficiency, including water-saving fixtures, water recycling, and rainwater harvesting.

Materials: Examining the use of sustainable and low impact building materials, as well as waste reduction practices.

Indoor Environment Quality: Ensuring a healthy and comfortable indoor environment for occupants, including air quality, natural lighting, and thermal comfort.

Transport: Considering access to public transportation, bicycle facilities, and reduced car dependency.

Innovation: Recognising innovative sustainable practices and technologies not covered by standard criteria.

Greenhouse Gas Emissions: Addressing the building’s carbon footprint and efforts to reduce emissions.

Projects pursuing Green Star Certification can earn points in various categories, and the accumulated points determine the certification level achieved: 4 Star, 5 Star, 6 Star, and beyond. Higher certification levels indicate a greater commitment to sustainability and environmental responsibility.

The Green Star Certification is widely recognised and has contributed to the growth of sustainable building practices in Australia. It has inspired the construction industry to adopt green building principles and technologies, reduce resource consumption, and enhance the overall environmental performance of buildings and developments.

It’s important to note that the Green Star Certification is specific to Australia and may have similarities to other international green building rating systems, such as LEED (United States) and BREEAM (United Kingdom), but it is tailored to the local context and needs of the Australian building industry.

Did you like the article?

Learn more about ESG compliance?

Enter email and speak with an expert.

More contributions